Positive Quotes- William James

“The greatest weapon against stress is our ability to choose one thought over another.”                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                      -William James

 

The problem we experience is the human tendency to obsess on our problems, as if the more we talk or think about them, the quicker they’ll disappear, but unfortunately this isn’t the case.

One way this quote is applicable in my life is while at work.  My perception of time at work is generally, dreadfully slow, but at any moment, I have the ability to shift my focus away from time and think about something else, whether that be something I’m working on at home, what I’m going to eat after my shift, or just steaming about some rude customer, these all help to keep my mind away from the slow creep of time.

However, I do have one general gripe with this quote.  We have to think about our problems and our issues, otherwise we will never learn to recognize problems within our own personalities when, like weeds, they inevitably pop up.  Still, we don’t want to dwell on bad situations, especially when there is nothing we can do to fix them.

Let me know in the comments how you deal with stress or how you can apply this quote to your everyday life.

 

 

Leave a Reply

